Posted by: check868 | June 29, 2008

Manic

I am slightly manic depressive. It’s not like I have to take pills or anything for it, and sometimes it’s nice. When I’m feeling manic… it’s like being on drugs for hours and hours. I feel smarter, more creative, I can hardly stop myself from running when I walk. I feel so energetic and powerful, it’s wonderful. The flip side isn’t so great, but it’s not terrible. It’s just annoying when everything is going great in my life, and I’m in this funk. Intellectually, I know I should be happy about all this good stuff, but it’s like it’s happening through a haze.

Anyway, certain things I’ve found predicably trigger funks. For instance, often after a bout of cartoon sketching, I will become depressed. Which is weird, because I love drawing cartoons. I talked to my mom about it a couple weeks ago, and she suggested that maybe it was because I wasn’t showing them to anybody. I was pouring all my effort and energy into cartoons, and then closing my sketchbook until next time. I think she was right. Since I’ve started posting them here, even though it’s only a fraction of the doodles I do, I haven’t felt depressed after drawing. So, thanks, everybody!

Unfortunately, my laziness prevents me from posting some of my favorite ideas, because they are too damn hard to draw. More than three people? Four panels? Extensive scenery? Too much work. Ah well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

