Posted by: check868 | April 11, 2008

Flogging 101

Wednesday, I went to the novice meeting of The Eulenspiegel Society, the strange name given to New York’s BDSM club (Eulenspeigal was a German prankster in the Middle Ages). I thought that the meeting was on being a dominant female, but it turns out that that’s next week. The meeting I went to was taught by an energetic and friendly guy who reminded me a bit of Richard Stallman.

The first part of the meeting was like a lesson or show. The audience watched him explain how to swing a flogger, different types of floggers, a bit about whips, and some psychological aspects. He had brought two of his subs, who he demonstrated on. At the culmination of his talk, he flogged one so hard that I thought he’d break her back, but she was in ecstasy.

Then there was a short break, where half the people in the room introduced themselves to me. Obviously, an attractive, single woman was somewhat unusual for these meetings. A middle-aged lesbian with a collar on was very nice, and invited me to come to Paddles with them after the meeting. Her mistress, a old lesbian (60’s?) was less charming, and when I demurred because I had to wake up early the next morning, she said, “Well, so do I.” One of the things I took from this experience is that it is unusual for me to want to spend time with another dominant. There was one very awesome dominant guy, Larry, who was a member of TES’s board. He looked like an ex-con with a shaved head and questionable mustache, but he was very nice.

The second part of the meeting was a circle, where people just talked about issues. Since at least half the people there were dominants and a lot of the dominants were pompous windbags, it was a little boring, but I enjoyed a story Larry told: he was doing this mock kidnapping/rape/interrogation scene where he kidnapped a friend for a whole weekend. Near the end of the weekend, they were riding up a hotel elevator to a room where she didn’t know it, but it would be the culmination of the weekend’s events. She looked at him and said, “Thank you, this has been so wonderful,” like she was Snow White and all the little forest creatures had been dressing her. He was thinking, “I am such a sick fuck. What the hell is wrong with me?”

When they got to the room, he and two others “raped” her, and when it was over, they were all laying on the bed, and one of them said, “We’re all going to hell.” Another one said, kind of tearing up, “Yeah, but we’ll all be there together.” BDSM is so great.

When we went around the circle and introduced ourselves, there was one girl who introduced herself as a “puppy.” She explained that she was submissive and liked acting like a dog. The really interested me, since I love dogs. It would be great to have a submissive puppy some day.

Afterwards, whoever wanted could go to a diner with the presenter. I went, along with another younger guy and a creepy older dominant who kept trying to make passes at me. Sorry, but if you’re over 40 (this guy was at least in his 60’s) and you make a pass at someone my age, and she rebuffs you, let it go. You’re not going to win her over by being a dick all night, which was what he proceeded to do. He lavished me with attention, when he found out I was dominant took every opportunity to call it into question (because we could only play if I was a sub), and was generally annoying. The instructor and his strange little family was awesome, though. He is poly: married, with two subs. His wife has one sub of her own. They all make their livings making whips and fetish videos in their house.

As we were leaving, he pulled me aside a bit and asked me if I was okay, if I wanted them to accompany me to a subway or something, since that old guy was being so creepy. I said that I thought the old guy was annoying but harmless and thanked him profusely for his chivalry. So few guys ever do this, and so many women would appreciate it! Fellows, if you are in a situation where there is a girl being hit on by a guy she isn’t interested in, it is wonderful for her if you can quietly pull her aside, acknowledge the situation, and ask if you can help. Then she knows the harassment isn’t just her imagination and has an ally, if she cares for one. It helps if you’re intentions aren’t prurient, or at least aren’t as prurient as the creepster’s.

I got home fine and overall had a great time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

